Before you can construct an effective argument, you must first have a solid understanding of your topic. Below are resources that provide a broad overview of a particular issue. As you read, take notes on key themes and ideas that you can use to research further. For very current topics that are constantly in flux, take a step back and see if you can tie that into broader themes.
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays and materials from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (affirmative argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).
What is an Op-Ed?
From the Washington Post: "An op-ed is an opinion piece by a guest writer that makes a clear argument about a topic usually (but not always) in the news. The name is derived from the traditional placement of these pieces opposite the editorial page of the printed newspaper."
For help writing your own Op-Ed:
How to Write and Op-Ed or Column (Harvard Kennedy School)
Tips for Aspiring Op-Ed Writers (New York Times) - really helpful article!
For assistance accessing library news resources, start with these helpful slides. Still feeling stuck? Contact a librarian via email or use the libchat at the bottom of this guide.
Newspapers: newspaper collections and links to individual papers.
Local and regional news coverage - newspaper.
The Los Angeles Times is a regional American daily newspaper that started publishing in Los Angeles, California in 1881.
The current digital edition of the New York Times now available with a special personal sign-up free on and off campus. To sign up for a pass, visit https://www.nytimes.com/passes and use your Lawrenceville email address to authenticate.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format
The current digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. For on-campus access, just click the link above. For off-campus access, ask a librarian for login credentials by contacting circ@lawrenceville.org.
The Washington Post, also known as the Post and, informally, WaPo, is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C., the national capital. It is the most widely circulated newspaper in the Washington metropolitan area and has a national audience. The Post was founded in 1877.
Magazines: links to magazine collections and individual magazine titles.
Access popular digital magazines and periodicals right from your desktop web browser.
Download fiction and nonfiction audiobooks and ebooks for free on your phone, tablet, or computer.
Below are a sampling of resources from the general web, including news organizations, and research institutions.
|
Though these sources are recommended based on a certain level of credibility, you should approach any source with a critical eye. Ask yourself:
When in doubt, reach out to a librarian or your teacher for help understanding a source! |