Bunn Library OneSearch:
Now you can search across Bunn Library's content using the search bar below! Use the search bar below to search for resources across library collections, including articles, books, ebooks, and more.
To start searching, type a title, keyword(s), or question in the search bar below. Use the filters on the left side of the results page to home in on content most relevant to your project.
Looking for something the library doesn't have?
Send the citation information (such as article title, author, periodical title) to Ms. Sinai, asinai@lawrenceville.org
A librarian will reply back to your request with a status update within 24 hours.
Before you can construct an effective argument, you must first have a solid understanding of your topic. Below are resources that provide data, statistical analysis, and broad overviews of particular issues. As you read, take notes on key themes and ideas that you can use to research further. For very current topics that are constantly in flux, take a step back and see if you can tie that into broader themes.
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays and materials from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (affirmative argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Statistical Collections:
Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Access data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History.
Recommended Resources from the Web:
Filter your search results focus on specific types of sources (scholarly articles, book reviews), dates, location, or subject. As you search, consider: who are the experts in your topic? How do you know?
Want to check if the library has access to a specific journal? Search for the title in our eJournals portal.
Scholarly Databases:
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Google Scholar is a free search engine that allows users to search for academic content (such academic papers, dissertations, theses, and case law) across the web, including content owned by Bunn Library. Results with full-text access will have a link in the column to the left of the title.
Access Google Scholar using the link provided below to ensure that you will retrieve full-text results from Bunn Library databases, or add The Lawrenceville School to "My Library" section of your user profile. For help or questions regarding Google Scholar, please reach out to Ms. Sinai at asinai@lawrenceville.org.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, foreign relations, and U.S. Presidents. Additional collections include material on Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World, Religion and the Law, Civil Rights and Social Justice, and COVID 19: Pandemics Past and Present.
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays and materials from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (affirmative argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum at any academic institution. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
A very large collection of periodicals covering a broad range of subject areas. ProQuest includes four basic databases: Platinum Periodicals, ProQuest Newspapers, Reference, and The Historical New York Times. The New York Times collection is complete back to 1851.
The following periodicals and periodical collections are available through Bunn Library. For assistance with access, please contact a librarian. For a full list of news and current events resources, check out Bunn's News Resources research guide.
To search a vast expanse of periodicals, we recommend:
A very large collection of periodicals covering a broad range of subject areas. ProQuest includes four basic databases: Platinum Periodicals, ProQuest Newspapers, Reference, and The Historical New York Times. The New York Times collection is complete back to 1851.
Newspaper Sources:
For assistance accessing library news resources, start with these helpful slides. Still feeling stuck? Contact a librarian via email or use the libchat at the bottom of this guide.
Provides full-text access to global, regional, and local news, including The Trentonian, Trenton Times, and Princeton Packet.
The current digital edition of the New York Times now available with a special personal sign-up free on and off campus. To sign up for a pass, visit https://www.nytimes.com/passes and use your Lawrenceville email address to authenticate.
The current digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. For on-campus access, just click the link above. For off-campus access, ask a librarian for login credentials by contacting circ@lawrenceville.org.
Magazine & Journal Sources:
Access popular digital magazines and periodicals right from your desktop web browser.
Download fiction and nonfiction audiobooks and ebooks for free on your phone, tablet, or computer.
Looking for something the library doesn't have?
Send the citation information (such as article title, author, periodical title) to Ms. Sinai, asinai@lawrenceville.org
A librarian will reply back to your request with a status update within 24 hours.
Access the Bunn Library Catalog to search for print and ebooks in the library, or ProQuest eBook Central to focus only on ebook titles.
Look for works that are written by experts in your topic of interest. Check the INDEX of the book for instances of your keywords (important people, themes, etc.).
Search the Bunn Library Catalog. Use the General Keyword search to broaden your results. For a narrower focus, search the catalog by Subject Keyword using the drop-down menu.
To find books in the stacks, look at the call number:
000-699: Lower Level
Fiction, 800-899: Main Floor
700-999: Second Floor
Books on Reference Room Reserve are located on the shelves in the Reference Room, and will have a colored spine label.
Have a useful book in hand?
Look at the Index for additional keywords and locate where they are discussed in your book.
Check the Bibliography for additional sources that are connected to your topic.
Below are a sampling of resources from the general web that include organizations devoted to research, advocacy, politics and policy, educational institutions, and think tanks.
Though these sources are recommended based on a certain level of credibility, you should approach any source with a critical eye. Ask yourself: can you trace the claims that are being made? Does that publisher have an agenda that may impact the content it publishes? If you are unsure about a source, act like a fact-checker: go outside the source and trace the claims, and learn more about author/publisher on wikipedia. When in doubt, or if you get stuck, reach out to a librarian or your teacher!
HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, foreign relations, and U.S. Presidents. Additional collections include material on Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World, Religion and the Law, Civil Rights and Social Justice, and COVID 19: Pandemics Past and Present.
Federal Resources:
New Jersey Government:
For explorations into other states, you may google the legislative site for that specific state.
Explore Further Research Guides:
Explore research guides from other local institutions that contain additional resources related to civics, including state, local, and federal government, and related data.