The following databases and websites provide helpful overviews and background information.
What about Wikipedia? Wikipedia is a great resource for this project, and can be used to understand important background information that can be used for further searches. Check the references section at the bottom of each article for links to additional sources, including newspaper articles and court documents. You may start with a search for the specific name of the person you are investigating, or by browsing the List of Serial Killers in the United States.
Databases:
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Websites:
Encyclopedias:
The Big Book of Serial Killers
by
Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states.
Provides full-text access to global, regional, and local news, including The Trentonian, Trenton Times, and Princeton Packet.
The current digital edition of the New York Times now available with a special personal sign-up free on and off campus. To sign up for a pass, visit https://www.nytimes.com/passes and use your Lawrenceville email address to authenticate.
The current digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. For on-campus access, just click the link above. For off-campus access, ask a librarian for login credentials by contacting circ@lawrenceville.org.
Periodical Crime Sections & Recommended Articles:
Search the Bunn Library catalog to view physical items available at the library (such as books, DVDs, games, and equipment), as well as ebooks and audiobooks.
Green River Killer
by
Natural Born Celebrities
by
Of Men and Monsters
by
Stranger Beside Me
by
