Need a refresher on the content we covered in class? View the slides presentation for helpful search tips and reminders.
The following sources offer credible, secondary coverage of topics in various scientific disciplines. If you find a useful article, check to see if there are links to primary literature. Make a list of key terms and ideas as you read.
To begin, explore the prior student projects for inspiration regarding global environmental science topics you can apply to campus.
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
National Geographic (1995-Current) brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research. With standard library features and functionality common to many Gale resources, National Geographic Virtual Library is a powerful tool for research through years of quality publications.
Scientific American covers the advances in research and discovery that are changing our understanding of the world and shaping our lives. Founded 1845, it is the oldest continuously published magazine in the United States and now reaches more than 10 million people around the world. Authoritative, engaging features, news, opinion and multimedia stories from journalists and expert authors—including more than 200 Nobel Prize winners—provide need-to-know coverage, insights and illumination of the most important developments at the intersection of science and society.
The following databases and academic search engines contain full-text access to hundreds of thousands of research studies, literature reviews, and reports. If you find a citation but are unsure if you can access the whole article, use the e-journals portal to search for the name of the journal and check to see that your article was published within the covered dates.
Found an article that looks promising? Use this organizer for help summarizing and understanding the source.
Bunn Library Databases:
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.
Nature is one of the world's foremost peer-reviewed scientific journals. Access includes articles from the current year only.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
Collection of resources related to environmental science, engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
Science Database contains millions of full text articles from multiple sources. The Science Database features ongoing full-text from prestigious and highly selective publishers such as Nature Publishing, Springer, Emerald, Cambridge University Press and many others.
Provides full-text access to over 1,700 peer-reviewed research journals in the life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. In addition to the full-text articles, ScienceDirect also provides access to 30 million abstracts from a broad range of bibliographic indexes.
Full text of Science's print version back through 1997. Also includes daily breaking stories through the online service, ScienceNOW.
Academic Search Engines:
Google Scholar is a free search engine that allows users to search for academic content (such academic papers, dissertations, theses, and case law) across the web, including content owned by Bunn Library. Results with full-text access will have a link in the column to the left of the title.
Access Google Scholar using the link provided below to ensure that you will retrieve full-text results from Bunn Library databases, or add The Lawrenceville School to "My Library" section of your user profile. For help or questions regarding Google Scholar, please reach out to Ms. Sinai at asinai@lawrenceville.org.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed does not include full text journal articles; links to the full text are often present when available from other sources. Use the unique link below to search PubMed, and explore full-text articles (when available) from Bunn Library.