Lloyd Kiva New, Cherokee Syllabary, ca.1945-60, dye on cotton, 36 x 49 in. Courtesy of the IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe, NM, BIA Collection Property Transfer, PROP-27. https://crystalbridges.org/exhibitions/art-for-a-new-understanding-native-voices-1950s-to-now/
Background Sources (encyclopedias, maps, timelines):
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
American Indian History offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American communities, through videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. This database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of the Americas.
Academic Journals and eBooks:
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum at any academic institution. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
Literary Criticism:
Literary Reference Center is a full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books, and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
Gain a deeper understanding of literary texts through a wide variety of contextual resources like videos, images, infographics, eBooks, and more.
Newspapers and Newspaper Archives:
Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states.
NYT Historical edition covers the newspaper from 1851-2016. For more recent articles try New York Times (ProQuest Central), which covers June 1, 1980-Present. For today's news, visit the digital New York Times.
Primary Sources (images, documents, etc.):
Jstor Images contains over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, the humanities and science from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.
Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
American Indian History offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American communities, through videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. This database allows for an interactive, multifaceted look at the indigenous peoples of the Americas.
|
To find a book, search the Bunn Library Catalog. Use the General Keyword search to broaden your results. For a narrower focus, search the catalog by Subject Keyword using the drop-down menu. Books in the library are arranged according to their subject matter. To find books in the stacks, look at the call number:
Have a useful book in hand?
|
Suggested titles to get started:
The titles listed below are just a sample of the library's collection. Search the catalog or additional titles, or ask a librarian for help. For more, browse the subject American Literature -- Indian authors in the library's catalog.
The Columbia Guide to American Indian Literatures of the United States Since 1945 by 
Contemporary Native American Literature by 
Indian Voices by 
New Poets of Native Nations by 
The Routledge Introduction to Native American Literature by 
In the Belly of a Laughing God by 
Captured in the Middle by 
You Don't Have to Say You Love Me by 
