Researching Medieval China: Research and Citation Resources
Statues of the Ming Tombs, China. Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division. Accessed January 18, 2024. online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=17344&itemid=WE49&iid=48187.
Understanding the Basics: Background Reading
Online Collections from Bunn Library:
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations — ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This authoritative online database covers prehistory through the 1500s with a user-friendly interface. Users can research each civilization in depth or use the browse feature to conduct comparative studies of events and developments across civilizations. Complete coverage: full scope of ancient history from prehistory through the mid-15th century.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Suggested articles to start your research:
Recommended Encyclopedias and Background Sources:
Historical Dictionary of Medieval China by 
China at War by Interpretation and Analysis: Secondary Sources
Recommended Databases from Bunn Library:
To explore additional resources, visit our Online Resources A to Z.
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
Books from the Library Catalog:
|
To find a book, search the Bunn Library Catalog. Use the General Keyword search to broaden your results. For a narrower focus, search the catalog by Subject Keyword using the drop-down menu. Books in the library are arranged according to their subject matter. Look for books that start with the call number 951 for many titles related to China and Chinese history.
To find books in the stacks, look at the call number:
Have a useful book in hand?
|
Suggested Books to Explore:
The following titles are just a starting point for your research. Look for books that start with the call number 951 for many titles related to China and Chinese history.
The Cambridge Illustrated History of China by 
The Shortest History of China by 
China: a History (Volume 1) by 
The History of China, 2nd Edition by 
Six Dynasties Civilization by 
Women in Early Medieval China by Integrating Historical Evidence: Primary Sources
Primary Source Collections from Bunn Library:
Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations — ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This authoritative online database covers prehistory through the 1500s with a user-friendly interface. Users can research each civilization in depth or use the browse feature to conduct comparative studies of events and developments across civilizations. Complete coverage: full scope of ancient history from prehistory through the mid-15th century.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Primary Source Collections in Print at the Library:
Primary Source Resources from the Web:
