Research Resources - US History Survey: Historiography Research | Winter '25

https://www.loc.gov/item/96503125/

History in Dispute Series

Using a chapter from a book within the History in Dispute series, you will analyze how different historians use primary sources to develop varying arguments around the nature and impact of historical events that occurred between 1900-1940. Further, you will conduct your own primary source research to deepen the historical analysis provided by the historians in your chapter.

Links to the full volumes in Gale ebooks are listed below, where you may access individual chapters. Potential topics for your research are also linked in your assignment description.

History in Dispute, Vol. 3: Vol. 3: American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945: Pursuit of Progress
This volume covers American social and political movements from 1900-1945, offering different critical perspectives on such major historical events as Prohibition, race relations, the labor movement, agriculture, anarchists, and technology, including new means of communication (the radio) and transportation (the airplane). It provides an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, stimulating critical thinking and providing ideas for discussion.
History in Dispute, Vol. 8: World War I: First Series
This volume covers World War I from 1914-1918, offering different critical perspectives on nationalism, militarism, imperialism, the Allies, Anglo-German naval race, Treaty of Versailles, East vs West, political and economic repercussions, and technological advances. It provides an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, stimulating critical thinking and providing ideas for discussion.
History in Dispute, Vol. 9: World War I: Second Series.
This volume extends coverage of World War I, offering critical perspectives on the roles of individual countries, the League of Nations, economic issues, maritime technology and U-boats, social issues, and Armistice Day. It provides an enhanced understanding of events only summarized in history texts, stimulating critical thinking and providing ideas for discussion.

As you do a close read of your chapter, you will need to identify:

Who are the historians that wrote each viewpoint? What are their credentials that would make them an expert on the topic?
What primary sources do they reference? Check the references section at the end of the page; are there citations for primary sources they use as evidence? Are there sources linked within the article that support their viewpoint?

Understand Your Topic: Background Sources

Before you can fully understand the conversations that historians are having about your research topic, or the value of a primary source, it is important that you know the basics. Who were the most important people, places, events? Can confidently you describe your topic in broad strokes? If not, you will need to go back and do some additional reading.

The sources linked below will help you with your initial research, and many include links to primary sources.

Facts on File: African-American History
Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History Online offers many exciting features, including more than 85 historical videos that bring history to life. The extensively hyperlinked entries in this comprehensive database include subject entries, primary sources, images and videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies, maps and charts, and more. Culled from many of Facts On File's critically acclaimed print titles, this database provides students and researchers with a wealth of quality, authoritative content.
Facts on File: American History
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Thousands of biographies, subject entries, timeline entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience.
Gale eBooks
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Primary Source Collections

Primary sources are the historical evidence used to support your thesis. These sources can take many forms, including newspaper articles, journal entries, letters, and speeches, as well as visual artifacts like illustrations, photographs, and works of art. In order to understand the significance of a source, you will need a solid understanding of your topic. Check out this article for more insights on primary sources.

Start your primary source research using this organizer to help think through your ideas and make a plan for research.

Primary Source Collections from Bunn Library (you must be affiliated with Lawrenceville to access):

American History, 1493-1945
A primary source collection sourced from The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.
Facts on File: American History
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Thousands of biographies, subject entries, timeline entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience.
Facts on File: African-American History
Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History Online offers many exciting features, including more than 85 historical videos that bring history to life. The extensively hyperlinked entries in this comprehensive database include subject entries, primary sources, images and videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies, maps and charts, and more. Culled from many of Facts On File's critically acclaimed print titles, this database provides students and researchers with a wealth of quality, authoritative content.
America's Historical Newspapers
Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
NYT Historical edition covers the newspaper from 1851-2016. For more recent articles try New York Times (ProQuest Central), which covers June 1, 1980-Present. For today's news, visit the digital New York Times.

Historical Images (Photographs, Illustrations, etc):

Analyzing a visual source can be tough! Start with these questions to help think through how the imagery supports the creator's goals. What is the value of the source? What does it say? What does it leave out? Describe the source: List information about the images, colors, lines, placement of objects, other details. Record basic information about the work. Who created it? When? Does the piece have a title, or supporting text that can provide more context? In what format was it originally distributed, and how it was it used? Based on what you know about the image, what message did the creator(s) intend to express? Who was the intended audience? What do you think they wanted the audience to do or feel once they have seen the image? Is the image effective? Does it successfully communicate the intended message? Does it use misleading information or lies to express its message? If so, how? For more help, use the Image Analysis Procedure graphic organizer from Facing History.

Bridgeman Education
Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Jstor Images (Previously Artstor)
Jstor Images contains over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, the humanities and science from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.

Primary Source Collections available for free online:
The following suggestions are just a starting point. Considering your topic, are there museums, universities, or other cultural institutions that may have collections related to your research?

Library of Congress (LOC):
Recommended research guides and primary source sets from the LOC available online. Explore recommended resources, teaching guides, and citations for additional artifacts and resources.

Cocaine Crisis (1898-1915): Topics in Chronicling America
The late 19th and early 20th century saw a rise in cocaine use across the United States. This guide provides access to materials related to the "Cocaine Crisis" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.
Great Depression and New Deal: A General Resource Guide
From approximately 1929 through the late 1930s, the U.S. experienced a period of economic depression and recovery. This guide compiles related Library of Congress digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography.
Harlem Renaissance
African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s are well represented in the vast collections of the Library of Congress.
Influenza Epidemic of 1918 (Spanish Flu): Topics in Chronicling America
The links below provide access to a sampling of articles from historic newspapers that can be found in Chronicling America.
The Mexican Revolution and the United States in the Collections of the Library of Congress
An exhibit from the LOC that explores the United States's involvement in the Mexican Revolution. Look at the various sections for primary source material and context.
The New Deal: Primary Source Set
Primary sources from the Library of Congress. Explore the teacher resource guide for guiding questions.
Organized Labor Since the 19th Century: A Research Guide
This guide offers resources on the history of organized labor and labor unions in the United States.
Palmer Raids: Topics in Chronicling America
From 1919 to 1920, fear of suspected anarchists and communists led to a nation-wide raid and deportations. This guide provides access to material related to the "Palmer Raids" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.
World War I: Primary Source Set
World War I was a war like no other, and U.S. participation in this global conflict had a profound impact on those who fought and on the future of the nation.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA):
Curated primary source sets and exhibits comprised of materials available within DPLA.