If you elect to use AI tools to help you to generate a topic or research question, you must cite every prompt that generated useful information. There is a template in Noodletools to assist you with this. Find more information on the Citation and Noodletools page of this guide.
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
History Research Center is an easy-to-use, customized search engine that allows users to search across multiple Facts On File databases, thus providing broad access to an unsurpassed online collection of authoritative history reference materials.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Can I use Wikipedia for background information? Yes! Wikipedia can be a valuable background source, and there will most likely be topic pages that focus specifically on an element of your topic. Though you cannot cite Wikipedia directly in a paper/project, look with a critical eye at the references listed at the end of each article for the possibility of discovering more scholarly, reputable resources. You may not use AI tools to find background information.
|
Be intentional about your keywords - who are the important figures, or events? How could you distill your topic into the most crucial words or phrases? Use the Advanced Search option whenever possible to join together keywords and key phrases. Use quotation marks around phrases to ensure all words appear together in order. Such as "domestic terrorism" Add search filters - for scholarly articles, limit to "peer review" |
You may use AI to help you find secondary sources. However, AI will not be able to provide sources that are protected behind a paywall, such as those available at Bunn Library. You must cite every prompt you use that generates information useful to your research.
To explore additional resources, visit our Online Resources A to Z.
Academic Journals:
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs (non-governmental organizations), foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
A very large collection of periodicals covering a broad range of subject areas. ProQuest includes four basic databases: Platinum Periodicals, ProQuest Newspapers, Reference, and The Historical New York Times. The New York Times collection is complete back to 1851.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum at any academic institution. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
Academic Search Engines:
Google Scholar is a free search engine that allows users to search for academic content (such academic papers, dissertations, theses, and case law) across the web, including content owned by Bunn Library. Results with full-text access will have a link in the column to the left of the title.
Access Google Scholar using the link provided below to ensure that you will retrieve full-text results from Bunn Library databases, or add The Lawrenceville School to "My Library" section of your user profile. For help or questions regarding Google Scholar, please reach out to Ms. Sinai at asinai@lawrenceville.org.
Websites:
What organizations may be writing about your topic? Consider resources like museums and other cultural institutions, think tanks, and NGOs.
Books and eBooks:
Includes access to over 50,000 academic ebook titles on across a range of disciplines.
Search the Bunn Library catalog to view physical items available at the library (such as books, DVDs, games, and equipment), as well as ebooks and audiobooks.
|
To find a book, search the Bunn Library Catalog. Use the General Keyword search to broaden your results. For a narrower focus, search the catalog by Subject Keyword using the drop-down menu. Books in the library are arranged according to their subject matter. To find books in the stacks, look at the call number:
Have a useful book in hand?
|
Larger collections with a wide range of material:
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history. Focused Topic Centers pull forward interesting entries, search terms, documents, and maps handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research, as well as videos and slideshow overviews to offer a visual introduction to key eras and regions. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Thousands of biographies, subject entries, timeline entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience.
This primary source collection spans five centuries, charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, and explores colonial history, politics, culture and society.
Newspapers and other Periodicals:
Search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's "newspaper of record."
Provides full-text access to global, regional, and local news, including The Trentonian, Trenton Times, and Princeton Packet.
NYT Historical edition covers the newspaper from 1851-2016. For more recent articles try New York Times (ProQuest Central), which covers June 1, 1980-Present. For today's news, visit the digital New York Times.
Related Research Guides at Bunn Library:
These guides have resources that overlap with many of the potential topics suggested for this research paper. Specifically focus on the primary source collections suggested. If you have questions or need help please contact Ms. Sinai.
