Art History Research Guide: Find Websites

Search the archive for all of Rossetti's pictorial and textual works.

View 3-D models of the David, other Michelangelo sculptures, and fragments of the Forma Urbis Romae, a huge marble map of ancient Rome. Learn the process of digital scanning of 3D artworks, and how the information helped in the restoration of the David.

Collection of about 6 million digital items from museums, libraries, and archives in Europe. Includes works of art, photos, maps, books, letters, diaries, newspapers, texts, sound recordings, films, etc.

Digital collection from the National Library of France. Over 1,00,000 digital books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, sound recordings, scores, etc.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide is the world's first scholarly, refereed e-journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe. The chronological scope of the journal is the "long" nineteenth century, stretching from the American and French Revolutions, at one end, to the outbreak of World War I, at the other.

At the official web site of the Louvre there are virtual tours of many of the galleries and exhibitions. The site presents a selection of the works of art from each of the seven departments of the museum.

America's first federal art collection, dedicated to the art and artists of the United States. More than 7,000 American artists are represented, including major artists such as John Singleton Copley, John Singer Sargent, Georgia O'Keeffe, and others. The featured themes and topics of the collection include Colonial portraiture, nineteenth-century landscape, American impressionism, twentieth-century realism and abstraction, New Deal projects, sculpture, photography, prints and drawings, contemporary crafts, African American art, Latino art, and folk art. The Smithsonian Online Exhibitions feature prize holdings from different eras in American history. The online version of American Art, the academic journal of the Smithsonian American Art Museum, has articles of interest to art historians.

Virtually tour the Vatican Museums, including the Sistine Chapel, and view its masterpieces.