Research Guides: Chemistry: Researching Alternative Fuels: Research Resources

Getting Started

Investigating Biodiesel: Suggested Resources

Biofuels: An Overview
From Gale in Context: Science. A background article that provides some basic information and context.
Biodiesel Basics
A helpful overview from the US Department of Energy. Look towards the bottom of the page for additional resources, statistics, case studies, etc.
Biodiesel Benefits and Considerations
An overview of biodiesel from the US Department of Energy.
Biofuels, Explained
An overview of biofuels and the impact on the environment, from the US Energy Information Administration

Scientific Articles and Reports:

Biofuel production: exploring renewable energy solutions for a greener future
Skim the introduction, and focus on specific subheadings in the article that relate to your project.
A review on the environmental life cycle assessment of biodiesel production: Selection of catalyst and oil feedstock
Focus on the abstract and introduction of this scientific literature review.

Investigating Nuclear Power: Research Resources

Nuclear power: An Overview
From Gale in Context: Science. A background article that provides basic information and context.
Nuclear, Explained
An overview of nuclear power and the environment, from the US Energy Information Administration
Advantages and Challenges of Nuclear Energy
From the US Department of Energy.
As nuclear waste piles up, scientists seek the best long-term storage solutions
From Chemical and Engineering News, published by the American Chemical Society.
Nuclear power and climate change: Decarbonization
From the International Atomic Energy Agency (United Nations).

Scientific Articles and Reports:

Long-Term Use of Nuclear Energy from the Aspect of Economy and Greenhouse Gas Emissions
Start with the abstract and introduction of this scholarly article, and head to the sections that are most relevant to your project.

Looking for More? Explore Bunn's Science Collections and Related Online Resources

Gale in Context: Science
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more.
ScienceDirect
Provides full-text access to over 1,700 peer-reviewed research journals in the life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. In addition to the full-text articles, ScienceDirect also provides access to 30 million abstracts from a broad range of bibliographic indexes.
Statista
Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Looking for sources outside those suggested above? If you are researching on the general web, it is important to critically evaluate the information you encounter. Does the publisher have any potential bias? By doing some additional searching about the publishing organization, reading about them on Wikipedia, etc. you can determine if the information is relevant and useful to your project. Be wary of industry groups who may have a specific agenda.