What is an Op-Ed?
From the Washington Post: "An op-ed is an opinion piece by a guest writer that makes a clear argument about a topic usually (but not always) in the news. The name is derived from the traditional placement of these pieces opposite the editorial page of the printed newspaper."
For help writing your own Op-Ed:
How to Write and Op-Ed or Column (Harvard Kennedy School)
Tips for Aspiring Op-Ed Writers (New York Times) - really helpful article!
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Suggested Books:
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion
by
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
by
The Encyclopedia of World Religions
by
A New Handbook of Living Religions
by
The Penguin Handbook of the World's Living Religions
by
New at Bunn: search across library collections and resources using OneSearch.
To get started, enter keywords, authors, titles, etc. in the search box below to explore resources from a majority of library databases. When viewing your results page, filter by content type, date of publication, and subject headings to narrow down your results to the most relevant content. For questions, please contact Ms. Sinai.
Recommended Databases at Bunn:
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum at any academic institution. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Recommended Books:
Below are a few titles to get started. Explore the library catalog to find additional titles related to your topic. When you find a book on the shelf, look to the left and the right of it to identify other related titles that may be of interest.
Judaism: a Very Short Introduction
by
Sikhism: a Very Short Introduction
by
Buddhism: a Very Short Introduction
by
Christianity: a Very Short Introduction
by
