Using a chapter from a book within the History in Dispute series, you will analyze how different historians use primary sources to develop varying arguments around the nature and impact of historical events. Further, you will conduct your own primary source research to deepen the historical analysis provided by the historians in your chapter.
As you do a close read of your chapter, you will need to identify:
Primary sources are the historical evidence used to support your argument. These sources can take many forms, including newspaper articles, journal entries, letters, and speeches, as well as visual artifacts like illustrations, photographs, and works of art. In order to understand the significance of a source, you will need a solid understanding of your topic.
Online Primary Source Collections from Bunn Library (you must be affiliated with Lawrenceville to access):
Provides full-text access to global, regional, and local news, including The Trentonian, Trenton Times, and Princeton Packet.
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history. Focused Topic Centers pull forward interesting entries, search terms, documents, and maps handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research, as well as videos and slideshow overviews to offer a visual introduction to key eras and regions. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Jstor Images contains over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, the humanities and science from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.
Search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's "newspaper of record."
Print and eBooks with Primary Sources:
The following print and ebook titles contain primary sources relevant to the topics in your assigned History in Dispute chapter. For additional titles, search the Bunn Library catalog for print or digital books, and eBook Central for digital books (linked below).
Search the Bunn Library catalog to view physical items available at the library (such as books, DVDs, games, and equipment), as well as ebooks and audiobooks.
Includes access to over 50,000 academic ebook titles on across a range of disciplines.
The First World War Peace Settlements, 1919-1925
by
World War II
by
World War II
by
Primary Source Collections available for free online:
The following suggestions are just a starting point. Considering your topic, are there museums, universities, or other cultural institutions that may have collections related to your research?
