For resources suggested in your class, please refer to the Globalization launchpad.
To understand the impact of globalization (and related -isms) on your country, it is important to have a solid sense of the facts. Start with background reading, and make note of key players, events, and themes that you can use for further research.
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history. Focused Topic Centers pull forward interesting entries, search terms, documents, and maps handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research, as well as videos and slideshow overviews to offer a visual introduction to key eras and regions. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
World Geography and Culture Online enhances the study of countries, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills. This comprehensive reference site makes it easy to study all aspects of a country, with facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more. In addition, comprehensive entries about the U.S. states are also available. Ideal for history and geography classrooms and projects as well as for general country and U.S. state research, this online resource features an easy-to-navigate interface, search and browse tools, and tabbed search results.
Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Academic Databases and Collections:
Use keyword searches to generate the most relevant information. Start with a search like "globalization AND your country" and add more specific keywords or phrases as you learn more. If you have a particular aspect of globalization that you are studying, like the environment, or a conflict, include that as well.
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs (non-governmental organizations), foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Google Scholar is a free search engine that allows users to search for academic content (such academic papers, dissertations, theses, and case law) across the web, including content owned by Bunn Library. Results with full-text access will have a link in the column to the left of the title.
Access Google Scholar using the link provided below to ensure that you will retrieve full-text results from Bunn Library databases, or add The Lawrenceville School to "My Library" section of your user profile. For help or questions regarding Google Scholar, please reach out to Ms. Sinai at asinai@lawrenceville.org.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
A very large collection of periodicals covering a broad range of subject areas. ProQuest includes four basic databases: Platinum Periodicals, ProQuest Newspapers, Reference, and The Historical New York Times. The New York Times collection is complete back to 1851.
Websites:
The following resources include links to the United Nations programs, NGOs, and think-tanks. This is not an exhaustive list! Consider your specific topic, and what organizations may be focused on it.
Books from Bunn Library:
Below are a few suggestions related to globalization and specific areas of focus related to this assignment. This is just a small selection to get started. To find additional books (in print or as ebooks) search globalization AND your country/region, or for a specific event or issue like "Arab Spring".
Search the Bunn Library catalog to view physical items available at the library (such as books, DVDs, games, and equipment), as well as ebooks and audiobooks.
Includes access to over 50,000 academic ebook titles on across a range of disciplines.
Arab Spring
by
The Globalization of Poverty and the N W Order
by
Globalization: a Very Short Introduction
by
Saving a Rainforest and Losing the World
by
Online collections:
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history. Focused Topic Centers pull forward interesting entries, search terms, documents, and maps handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research, as well as videos and slideshow overviews to offer a visual introduction to key eras and regions. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.
Comprised mainly of books and primary sources this collection contains international coverage of social, economic, history, law and women's studies from the late half of the nineteenth century.
Newspapers:
Focus on resources with international news, such as those listed below. Most importantly, consider the scope of your topic. Where would there be the most coverage? Where can you find alternative perspectives?
Provides full-text access to global, regional, and local news, including The Trentonian, Trenton Times, and Princeton Packet.
NYT Historical edition covers the newspaper from 1851-2016. For more recent articles try New York Times (ProQuest Central), which covers June 1, 1980-Present. For today's news, visit the digital New York Times.
Search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's "newspaper of record."
