Consider the time periods you have covered so fall this fall, 1700s-1850s. What historical content or major issues are missing from the current Cases curriculum?
Approach the resources below in the order in which they are listed. First, get to know additional topics, events, and developments that are essential for students of US history that occurred in and around your assigned era. Second, identify the most authoritative primary and secondary sources historians should use to develop and write a case on your topic.
The following resources will provide essential background information and a broad, objective overview about the topic(s) you are studying. As you read, take notes on the key people, places, events, and themes that you can use for further research. You may also opt to use AI for background reading. Remember that you must cite AI (there is an option to do this in Noodletools). Also recognize that AI often hallucinates and can provide information that is not true; you must double check to make sure what you are reading is correct.
Suggested Databases & Digital Collections:
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History Online offers many exciting features, including more than 85 historical videos that bring history to life. The extensively hyperlinked entries in this comprehensive database include subject entries, primary sources, images and videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies, maps and charts, and more. Culled from many of Facts On File's critically acclaimed print titles, this database provides students and researchers with a wealth of quality, authoritative content.
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Thousands of biographies, subject entries, timeline entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience.
Covers both U.S. history, with full-text articles and primary sources, as well as access to the abstracts and citations in the premier U.S. historical bibliography, America: History & Life.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Suggested Reference Books (print and eBook):
The Oxford Companion to United States History
by
U-X-L Encyclopedia of U. S. History
by
New at Bunn: search across library collections and resources using OneSearch. To get started, enter keywords, authors, titles, etc. in the search box below to explore resources from a majority of library databases. When viewing your results page, filter by content type, date of publication, and subject headings to narrow down your results to the most relevant content. For questions, please contact Ms. Sinai.
Suggested Databases and Digital Collections:
Your goal is to identify the most important books and articles (known as seminal works) written about your topic. You may use book reviews to help understand the primary themes and arguments within a book, as well as to understand what other historians are saying about that particular work.
Covers both U.S. history, with full-text articles and primary sources, as well as access to the abstracts and citations in the premier U.S. historical bibliography, America: History & Life.
HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, foreign relations, and U.S. Presidents. Additional collections include material on Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World, Religion and the Law, Civil Rights and Social Justice, and COVID 19: Pandemics Past and Present.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
A very large collection of periodicals covering a broad range of subject areas. ProQuest includes four basic databases: Platinum Periodicals, ProQuest Newspapers, Reference, and The Historical New York Times. The New York Times collection is complete back to 1851.
Suggested Books (print and eBooks):
The following titles are just a starting point. The library is organized by subject. Why is that useful? Once you identify a topic you are interested in, complete a search in the library catalog to find related titles. After you find one useful book, do a shelf browse (look to the left and the right) to find other books that are related.
Search the Bunn Library catalog to view physical items available at the library (such as books, DVDs, games, and equipment), as well as ebooks and audiobooks.
Historiography:
The following titles contain collections of analytical essays, and identify the most prominent essays and books in the field of study.
A Companion to African American History
by
A Companion to Colonial America
by
A Companion to American Indian History
by
A Companion to American Women's History
by
A Companion to the Era of Andrew Jackson
by
Suggested Digital Collections:
A primary source collection sourced from The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.
This digital archive documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783. The experiences of commanders and common soldiers, women and slaves, Indians and Loyalists are all recorded in this collection, providing a richer sense of the causes and consequences of one of the great turning points in human history.
Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states.
Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History Online offers many exciting features, including more than 85 historical videos that bring history to life. The extensively hyperlinked entries in this comprehensive database include subject entries, primary sources, images and videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies, maps and charts, and more. Culled from many of Facts On File's critically acclaimed print titles, this database provides students and researchers with a wealth of quality, authoritative content.
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Thousands of biographies, subject entries, timeline entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience.
Suggested Books (print and eBooks):
The following books contain collections of primary sources organized around a specific theme. Some books include helpful essays that contextualize the sources and offer insights that may be helpful as you complete your project.
Major Problems in American Colonial History
by
Major Problems in American Women's History
by
Major Problems in American Indian History
by
Black Americans in the Revolutionary Era
by
Defending Slavery: Proslavery Thought in the Old South
by
The Confessions of Nat Turner
by
The Cherokee Removal
by
The World Turned Upside Down
by
Andrew Jackson vs. Henry Clay
by
Creating an American Culture, 1775-1800
by