Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History Online offers many exciting features, including more than 85 historical videos that bring history to life. The extensively hyperlinked entries in this comprehensive database include subject entries, primary sources, images and videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies, maps and charts, and more. Culled from many of Facts On File's critically acclaimed print titles, this database provides students and researchers with a wealth of quality, authoritative content.
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Thousands of biographies, subject entries, timeline entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience.
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. A database of over 1,000 reference ebooks, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Suggested articles & topic overviews:
Articles and topics from Bunn Library collections and the general web.
A note on using Wikipedia for background information: Wikipedia can be a valuable background source, and there will most likely be topic pages that focus specifically on an element of your topic, like a Al Capone, Tulsa Massacre, or the Harlem Renaissance, to name a few. Though you cannot cite Wikipedia directly in a paper/project, look with a critical eye at the references listed at the end of each article for the possibility of discovering more scholarly, reputable resources.
|
Be intentional about your keywords - who are the important figures, or events? How could you distill your topic into the most crucial words or phrases? Use the Advanced Search option whenever possible to join together keywords and key phrases. Use quotation marks around phrases to ensure all words appear together in order. Such as "dollar diplomacy" Add search filters - limit to scholarly journal articles, book chapters (avoid book reviews!) |
As you research, you will not have time to read every article thoroughly - practice "skimming" an article to understand the main points. You may use the AI tools recommended in your assignment sheet to help you in summarizing and understanding an article's perspective. You must cite every AI prompt that you use to find sources! Noodletools has an AI template. For more information check out the citation section of this guide.
Once you have selected articles, you may use this checklist to "skim" an article for useful information. Make a copy for yourself and use it to take notes on your sources.
Online Collections at Bunn Library:
Covers both U.S. history, with full-text articles and primary sources, as well as access to the abstracts and citations in the premier U.S. historical bibliography, America: History & Life.
HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, foreign relations, and U.S. Presidents. Additional collections include material on Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World, Religion and the Law, Civil Rights and Social Justice, and COVID 19: Pandemics Past and Present.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum at any academic institution. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
A very large collection of periodicals covering a broad range of subject areas. ProQuest includes four basic databases: Platinum Periodicals, ProQuest Newspapers, Reference, and The Historical New York Times. The New York Times collection is complete back to 1851.
Academic Search Engines:
Search the Bunn Library catalog to view physical items available at the library (such as books, DVDs, games, and equipment), as well as ebooks and audiobooks.
|
Look for works that are written by historians and experts in your topic of interest. Check the INDEX of the book for instances of your keywords (important people, themes, etc.). Search the Bunn Library Catalog. Use the General Keyword search to broaden your results. For a narrower focus, search the catalog by Subject Keyword using the drop-down menu. To find books in the stacks, look at the call number:
Books on Reference Room Reserve are located on the shelves in the Reference Room, and will have a colored spine label. Have a useful book in hand?
|
These are just a few selections to get started. For more, search the library catalog for your keywords. To view a broad list of titles focused on that time period that covers many subtopics, explore United States -- History -- 1919- 1933
Suggested titles in our print collection:
This is just a starting point! Search the library catalog with your own keywords (key figures, events, etc.) to identify more titles related to your topic of interest.
Crystallizing Public Opinion by 
The Warmth of Other Suns by 
Justice for Marcus Garvey by 
For the Thrill of It by 
Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states.
A primary source collection sourced from The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.
Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History Online offers many exciting features, including more than 85 historical videos that bring history to life. The extensively hyperlinked entries in this comprehensive database include subject entries, primary sources, images and videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies, maps and charts, and more. Culled from many of Facts On File's critically acclaimed print titles, this database provides students and researchers with a wealth of quality, authoritative content.
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Thousands of biographies, subject entries, timeline entries, primary source documents, maps, and images cover the entire spectrum of the American experience.
Jstor Images contains over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, the humanities and science from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.
NYT Historical edition covers the newspaper from 1851-2016. For more recent articles try New York Times (ProQuest Central), which covers June 1, 1980-Present. For today's news, visit the digital New York Times.
Founded in 1865, The Nation is America's oldest continuously published weekly magazine. The archive includes the full run of the paper from that time. The Nation is frequently quoted and referred to in works of historical analysis. In the contemporary period, it is characterized by a liberal point of view.
Library of Congress (LOC):
Recommended research guides and primary sources from the LOC available online. Explore recommended resources, teaching guides, and citations for additional artifacts and resources.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA):
Curated primary source sets and exhibits comprised of materials available within DPLA.
These are just a few selections to get started. For more, search the library catalog. Add keywords "sources" or "documents" to your search terms to focus on primary document collections.
The Harlem Renaissance by 
Black Protest and the Great Migration by 
The Scopes Trial by 
The Poems 1921-1940 (LH1) by 
Zora Neale Hurston: Novels and Stories (LOA #74) by 
