|
Be intentional about your keywords - who are the important figures, or events? How could you distill your topic into the most crucial words or phrases? Use the Advanced Search option whenever possible to join together keywords and key phrases. Use quotation marks around phrases to ensure all words appear together in order. Such as "dollar diplomacy" Add search filters - limit to scholarly journal articles, book chapters (avoid book reviews!) |
Online Collections at Bunn Library:
A family of databases spanning scholarly and popular titles, many in full-text. There are specialized databases for business, education, and health. Very large and inclusive.
Covers both U.S. history, with full-text articles and primary sources, as well as access to the abstracts and citations in the premier U.S. historical bibliography, America: History & Life.
This full-text database contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. The JSTOR mission is unique in that it creates a permanent, digitized archive of the selected titles.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum at any academic institution. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
A very large collection of periodicals covering a broad range of subject areas. ProQuest includes four basic databases: Platinum Periodicals, ProQuest Newspapers, Reference, and The Historical New York Times. The New York Times collection is complete back to 1851.
Academic Search Engines:
As you research, you will not have time to read every article thoroughly - practice "skimming" an article to understand the main points. You may use the AI tools recommended in your assignment sheet to help you in summarizing and understanding an article's perspective.
Once you have selected articles, you may use this checklist to "skim" an article for useful information. Make a copy for yourself and use it to take notes on your sources.
|
Look for works that are written by historians and experts in your topic of interest. Check the INDEX of the book for instances of your keywords (important people, themes, etc.). Search the Bunn Library Catalog. Use the General Keyword search to broaden your results. For a narrower focus, search the catalog by Subject Keyword using the drop-down menu.
To find books in the stacks, look at the call number:
Books on Reference Room Reserve are located on the shelves in the Reference Room, and will have a colored spine label. Have a useful book in hand?
|
These are just a few selections to get started. For more, search the library catalog for your keywords. Select search by subject browse, and enter United States -- Civilization -- 1865-1918 to view a broad list of titles focused on that time period that covers many subtopics.
Or, select search by subject keyword, and use words related to your specific topic (women's suffrage, industrialization, immigration, progressivism, lynching, etc.).
Many titles covering Gilded Age topics will be in the call number sections 331.88 (lower level) 973.8 and 973.9 (upper level of the library).
Suggested titles in our print collection:
America in the Gilded Age by Titles in our eBook collection (available to read online):
A Companion to the Gilded Age and Progressive Era by 
