Skip to Main Content
site header image

Forces: Decolonization Project Spring '24

Research guide curated for the Forces that Shaped the Modern World Late 20th-Century Decolonization Project, Spring Term 2024
Primary Sources are the historical evidence, and the most crucial element of your exhibit. Examples of sources include photographs, letters, diary entries, interviews/oral histories, and newspaper articles. 

Collections to Explore

Collections from Bunn Library: 
 
Artstor: contains over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, the humanities and science from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives. 
Empire Online This primary source collection spans five centuries, charting the rise and fall of empires around the world, and explores colonial history, politics, culture and society.
Facts on File - Modern World History Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Includes both reference/background and primary sources.
JSTOR: includes a trove of primary sources (images, artifacts) in addition to secondary sources. 
Historical Newspapers (from Bunn Library):
Access World News (Newsbank): Provides full-text access to global, regional, and local news.
Historic New York Times: New York Times articles 1851-2018.
Times of London: Search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source widely considered to be the world's "newspaper of record."
Print Books in the Library Catalog: 
Collections from the Web:
Wilson Center Digital Archive the Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, much of it in English translation. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide unique insights into recent international history, and serve to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges.
+ International Dimensions of Decolonization in the Middle East and North Africa includes an essay overview with supporting primary sources
Hoover Institution: Latin America Collections These collections concentrate on political and economic developments during the twentieth century. The Cuban revolution, Juan Perón and the Perónist movement, and various civil wars in Central America are well documented. Others focus on the adoption, in recent decades, of free-market economic policies by Latin American governments.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook from Fordham University. Specifically, check out the sections on Decolonization, Asia since 1900, Africa since 1945, Middle East since 1914, and 20C Latin America
Internet African History Sourcebook from Fordham University. View the collections: 
+ Africa Sourcebook: European Imperialism
+ Africa Sourcebook: The Fight for Independence
East Asia History Sourcebook from Fordham University. View the collections: 
+ East Asia Sourcebook: The Western Intrusion
+ East Asia Sourcebook: Other East Asian Countries includes resources related to the Non Aligned Movement and Vietnam War
Granger Historical Picture Archive A source for images from prehistoric times through the recent past. Granger's holdings have grown to encompass millions of engravings, photographs, lithographs, and many other forms of illustration. The Granger offers a wonderful collection of images related to imperialism. Browse by country/region for images related to that area. 
For further recommendations, visit the Bunn Library's Primary Source Research Guide