Cases: Rise of New Conservatism & ERA Research Project

Online Reference Collections through Bunn Library:

Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as a Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus. The Internet Guide provides links to recommended web sites.

Gale eBooks: search for broad keywords, like “World War II” AND technology, and narrow your focus as you understand more about your topic. Use quotation marks “” around multiple words to search for key phrases.

Gale in Context - US History: Covers both U.S. history, with full-text articles and primary sources, as well as access to the abstracts and citations in the premier U.S. historical bibliography, America: History & Life. Filter results to focus on reference sources only. *Includes reference, secondary, and primary sources. 

Facts on File - American History: Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined American history. Includes both reference/background and primary sources. 

Statistical Databases:

Historical Statistics of the United States: Access data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History.

Statista: Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on media, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

*Recommended reference source: Chapter on the rise of New Conservatism from American YAWP

Scholarly Source Collections: Academic Articles from Bunn Library

Filter your search results to focus on full-text article or book chapters written by scholars. Who are the experts in this field? How do you know? For help understanding and skimming a scholarly source, use this checklist and take notes

Gale in Context: US History Covers both U.S. history, with full-text articles and primary sources, as well as access to the abstracts and citations in the premier U.S. historical bibliography, American History & Life.

HeinOnline: HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, foreign relations, and U.S. Presidents. Additional collections include material on civil rights and social justice. 

JSTOR: A highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. Use the Advanced Search and limit to Articles and Books.

Project MUSE: A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.

ProQuest Databases: A vast library of periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals) covering a wide range of subjects. To search, select the Full Text checkbox so that your results yield only material that you can access, and use filters to limit results to scholarly articles.

Academic Search Engines:

Google Scholar: Google Scholar is a free search engine that allows users to search for academic content (such academic papers, dissertations, theses, and case law) across the web, including content owned by Bunn Library. Results with full-text access will have a link in the column to the left of the title.

Want to check if the library has access to a specific newspaper, journal, or magazine? Search for the title in our eJournals portal.

Recommended collections and articles from the web:

Congressional Research Service Reports Database: a public policy research institute of the United States Congress. Operating within the Library of Congress, it works primarily and directly for members of Congress and their committees and staff on a confidential, nonpartisan basis.

CQ Research: Offers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. NOTE: the library does not currently subscribe to CQ Researcher. A lot of content is available for free, but some may be behind a paywall. If you absolutely need to have something from this site that is unavailable, please send the citation information and link to Ms. Sinai asinai@lawrenceville.org

This Day in History: National Organization for Women was Founded from the Obama White House 

National Women's Conference, 1977 from the Texas State Historical Association. An overview of the conference and it's impact, as well as some links to primary sources. 

Locate books in print or ebook format:

• Bunn Library Catalog Access Bunn Library's print and ebook collection. Start with a "subject keyword" search.

• Proquest eBook Central. Filter your results using limiters and change your search terms according to your topic. Contact Bunn or visit our Haiku page for helpful search tips. 

To find a book, search the Bunn Library Catalog. Use the General Keyword search to broaden your results. For a narrower focus, search the catalog by Subject Keyword using the drop-down menu. To get started, view sources related to the subject headings Conservatism -- United States -- History -- 21st century or United States -- Politics and government -- 1989-

To find books in the stacks, look at the call number:

• 000-699: Lower Level

• 800-899: Main Floor, next to Fiction

• 700-799, 900-999: Second Floor

Have a useful book in hand?

• Look at the Index for additional keywords and locate where they are discussed in your book. 

• Check the Bibliography for additional sources that are connected to your topic.

Recommended Books from the Library Catalog:
This is not an exhaustive list - just a starting point. Use your specific keywords to locate additional titles. 

Recommended Primary Sources in Print:

Recommended Newspaper and Archival Collections from Bunn Library:

America's Historical Newspapers: Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states. Use the "Historical Timeline" feature to browse articles related to important events in American history related to this time period, 1957-1989. 

Historic New York Times: New York Times articles 1851-2018.

The Nation Archive: Founded in 1865, The Nation is America's oldest continuously published weekly magazine. The archive includes the full run of the paper from that time. The Nation is frequently quoted and referred to in works of historical analysis. In the contemporary period, it is characterized by a liberal point of view.

Recommended Collections and Sources from the Web:

Collections:

DPLA: Digital Public Library of America

+ DPLA Primary Source Set: The Equal Rights Amendment

+ DPLA Primary Source Set: Rise of Conservatism in the 1980s

+ DPLA Exhibit: Women's Activism in the US (includes coverage of ERA Activism, Pro-Choice Movement, and Anti-Abortion Activism)

ERA Materials from the Washington State Archive

National Archives: ERA Resources

Martha Griffiths and the Equal Rights Amendment: Overview and Sources from the National Archives

Phyllis Schlafly Report issues from the 1970s-90s

Specific Sources:

Betty Ford Interview with Morley Safer from the Gerald Ford Museum

What's Wrong with "Equal Rights" for Women from the Phyllis Schlafly Report February 1972