Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Eberly Center at Carnegie Mellon University provides a comprehensive guide on developing classroom climate, including strategies for handling sensitive or difficult conversations.

Cornell University’s Center for Teaching Innovation provides a website full of teaching ideas, including suggestions for incorporating diversity into teaching, as well as building an inclusive classroom. Reference lists are provided for each guide as well as a checklist for Universal Design for Learning.

A collection of research and projects from Harvard University’s leading researchers on the topics of diversity and inclusion.

The University of Arizona provides guidelines and frameworks for creating inclusive classrooms including teaching strategies, dealing with conflict in diverse spaces, incorporating gender dynamics, inclusion of people with disabilities, and addressing hidden and unconscious bias.

The University of Rhode Island created its own pathfinder for its faculty development page about inclusive instruction that provides an overview of diversity, why it matters, and how to implement principles of an inclusive classroom.

The Teaching Center at Washington University in St. Louis provides a wonderful list of references as well as strategies for building an inclusive classroom, including reducing stereotype threats, promoting access to resources and support, and reflection to refine teaching technique.

Yale University’s Center for Teaching and Learning provides practical recommendations and strategies for developing inclusive classroom climates and assessments.

Resources on Diversity and Inclusion from the National Association of Independent schools, including reports on best practices, archived webinars, and more.

Teaching Tolerance was founded by the Southern Poverty Law Center and is dedicated to providing educators with resources for creating a classroom climate that is focused on diversity, inclusion, and social justice.

SEED stands for “Seeking Educational Equity and Diversity.” It is a professional development program that is peer-led, and provides “[c]urricula, teaching methods, and workplace practices that are gender fair, multiculturally equitable, socioeconomically aware, and globally informed create the most effective environments for all people to learn and flourish” (National SEED Project n.d.).

Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is a set of principles for educators to use in developing curriculum that accounts for learner diversity, thereby giving all students an equal opportunity to learn. This site provides resources for educators and parents, as well as advocacy information.

A summary of the U.S. Department of Education’s research, grants, scholarship programs, and other information about diversity in education.

BAR WE is a group of district and charter school educators in Philadelphia who identify as white. The foundations of this work were laid during a Caucus of Working Educators / Teacher Action Group summer reading series in the summer of 2016. The work has developed through two Inquiry to Action Groups, Summer Book Clubs, and continued monthly meetings. We took on the name "BAR WE" (Building Anti-Racist White Educators) in the Spring of 2018. During the 2018-19 school year, we will distribute a monthly Reading & Inquiry Series intended for white educators to use with their peers to develop anti-racist identities and practices. Our work is accountable to the Caucus of Working Educators Racial Justice Committee - an interracial group led by people of color.

A tool with information about the pronunciation of different names around the world.

A free online resource providing curricula, activities, and other resources for educators facilitating Safe Zone trainings (sexuality, gender, and LGBTQ+ education sessions), and learners who are hoping to explore these concepts on their own.

Equity in the Center works to shift mindsets, practices, and systems within the social sector to increase racial equity. We envision a future where nonprofit and philanthropic organizations define, implement and advance race equity internally while advocating and centering it in their work externally.

Equity in the Center also maintains the website Woke@Work and published a resource guide for organizations called "Awake to Woke to Work: Building a Race Equity Culture"