The British Library website contains an extensive amount of digital content including newspapers, manuscripts, theses, multimedia, festival books, etc.
-Columbia University Libraries: Digital Collections
The Digital Collections offers users electronic access to a number of Columbia University’s collections.
CREDO is a digital repository that holds the digital collections of the University of Massachusetts Special Collections and University Archives. Collections of interest include the W.E.B. DuBois Papers and the Horace Mann Bond Papers.
-Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America became available April 18, 2013. This search engine provides access to millions of texts, images, audio files, video files, and other resources digitized by libraries, archives, museums, and other organizations in the United States. The DPLA is an incredible resource of historical primary source material.
-Duke University Libraries: Digital Collections
The Digital Collection includes historical manuscripts, images, maps, advertisements, and more.
-Fordham University: Internet History Sourcebook
"The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use."
In partnership with several major academic institutions, Google has created a comprehensive and searchable library in the attempt to democratize information and make knowledge avaliable to a larger swath of the population.
-Harvard University Library: Open Collections Program
The Open Collections Program (OCP) has created six subject-specific, web-accessible collections that can support teaching and learning around the world. Today, OCP collections account for over 2.3 million digitized pages, including more than 225,000 manuscript pages.
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
-Hoover Institution Library and Archives
The Hoover Institution Library and Archives is “dedicated to documenting war, revolution, and peace in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.” The Institution currently holds one million volumes and six thousand archival collections from over one hundred countries. A small selection of the collections have been digitized and are available online.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its mission is to provide “permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.”
The Library of Congress is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world, with millions of items including books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
Comprised mainly of books and primary sources this collection contains international coverage of social,economic, history, law and women's studies from the late half of the nineteenth century.
-The National Archives and Records Administration Catalog
The National Archives Catalog is the main portal to search NARA’s collections. The catalog currently contains archival descriptions for 85% of the holdings of the National Archives, authority files, and over 2 million digitized records.
-National Archives and Records Administration: Research Guides
The National Archives offers a number of research guides to aid users in executing a successful search of NARA’s collections.
-The National Archives, United Kingdom
The National Archives is committed to preserving government records of the United Kingdom. The collection is one of the largest in the world, containing over 11 million historical government and public records.
-New York Public Library: Digital Collections
The site offers users access to over 600,000 items digitized from the New York Public Library’s collections. The database features prints, photographs, manuscripts, maps, and video that can be accessed through keyword search or browsing.
Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks.
-UCLA Library: Digital Collection
The UCLA Digital Library Program (DLP) provides a number of materials including text, images, maps, and audio/visual.
-The University of Chicago: Digital Libraries Collections & Activities
The Digital Libraries Collections & Archives provides access to a number of the University of Chicago’s collections--including manuscripts, maps, books and journals, and photographs.
-Smithsonian Institution Archives
The Smithsonian Institution Archives “captures, preserves, and makes available to the public the history of this extraordinary Institution.”
-Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center
The Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections. There are 9.3 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology with over 1.3 million images, videos, audio files, podcasts, blog posts and electronic journals.
-Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections
The Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections provides users access to over 5,000 scanned books, photo collections, videos, scholarly bibliographies, virtual exhibitions, and searchable databases of resources related to art, history, science, technology and library and museum collections or exhibitions.