Founded in 1865, The Nation is America's oldest continuously published weekly magazine. The archive includes the full run of the paper from that time. The Nation is frequently quoted and referred to in works of historical analysis. In the contemporary period, it is characterized by a liberal point of view.
Produced by Encyclopaedia Britannica, Annals includes over 2000 primary source documents, as well as images and media clips. The database may be browsed by historical period, author, or through a topical list. The database may also be searched by keyword or phrase.
The Artstor Digital Library contains over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, the humanities and science from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.
-Facts on File Reference Collection
A family of databases that includes historical and scientific encyclopedias, as well as a Curriculum Resource Center and a collection of reproducible Maps on File.
-Historical Statistics of the United States
Presents the numerical history of the United States. This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
Comprised mainly of books and primary sources this collection contains international coverage of social, economic, history, law and women's studies from the late half of the nineteenth century.
A Biographical Dictionary of the Baseball Hall of Fame (REF 796.357 Sk36b)
American Eras (REF 973 G131a)
American National Biography (REF 920.073 Ox2a)
American Presidents (REF 973.099 M272a)
American Reform and Reformers: A Biographical Dictionary (REF 303.4840922 M617a)
Black Women in America (REF 305.4889 H588b)
Dictionary of American History (REF 973.03 Scr31d)
Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography (REF 338.0973 F119e)
Encyclopedia of American Economic History (REF 330.973 P833e)
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History (REF 333.72 B7935e)
Encyclopedia of the American Left (REF 335.00973 B867e)
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century (REF 973.5 F4957e)
Foreign Relations of the United States (REF 327.73 Un3f)
Great Events from History: North American Series (REF 970 M272g)
Great Lives from History: American Series (REF 920.073 M272g)
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups (REF 305.800973 T343h)
Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration (REF 305.800973 B24i)
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects (REF 720.92 P69m)
Presidential Campaigns: Documents Decoded (REF 324.7097 Sh31p)
Speeches of the American Presidents (REF 352.238 P7517s)
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular History (REF 973.9 R4485s)
The Cambridge History of Nineteenth-Century Political Thought (REF 320.01 J716c)
The Cambridge History of Thought (REF 509 P835c)
The Cultural Encyclopedia of Baseball (REF 796.35703 L626c)
The Historical Dictionary of the Progressive Era, 1890-1920 (REF 973.91 B862h)
The Story of America as Reported by its Newspapers, 1690-1965 (REF 973.08 Em36s)
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia (REF 920.72 C737w)
Working Americans, 1880-2012 (REF 305.562 D445w)
|
|
-James C. Mackenzie Papers (DC033)
The James C. Mackenzie Papers consist of documents pertaining to Mackenzie's student and occupational career prior to his arrival at Lawrenceville; his correspondence, reports, writings, sermons, addresses, and activities at The Lawrenceville School, Jacob Tome Institute, and Mackenzie School, as well as with the Headmasters' Association and the Committee of Ten; the correspondence of his family, including reminiscences of Lawrenceville by his wife and daughter; and biographical accounts of Mackenzie by his son Richard, T. Dean Swift (his secretary at Lawrenceville), and others. Items of particular interest include correspondence with Peabody and Sterns and Frederic Law Olmsted pertaining to the design and building of The Circle.
-Board of Trustees Records (DC001)
The Board of Trustees Records document the history the Board of Trustees, it's members, and The Lawrenceville School. The bulk of the records consist of files of individual trustees, which include correspondence, memoranda, and newspaper clippings, and documents generated during the course the Board's day-to-day management of the School such as annual reports, meeting minutes, and resolutions. Also included are the founding documents of the Board, it's bylaws, and documents created by it's various committees.
-Hamill Family Papers (DC011)
The Hamill Family Papers consist of correspondence and subject files. The bulk of the correspondence pertains to school business, but some personal correspondence is also included. The majority of the correspondence is to and from Dr. Samuel M. Hamill and Samuel M. Hamill, Jr. though some miscellaneous correspondence regarding other family is included. The bulk of the subject files also pertain to Lawrenceville School business though the history of the Hamill family beyond Dr. Hamill is also documented. Included with the general family subject files are newspaper clippings, obituaries, and biographical information.
-The Lawrenceville Female Seminary (DC057)
The bulk of the Lawrenceville Female Seminary Collection consists of documents created during the course seminary business.
-The Lawrentian Collection (DC065)
The Lawrentian Collection consists of a near-completed run of both bound and loose copies the official alumni magazine of The Lawrenceville School.
-The Lawrence Collection (DC055)
The Lawrence Collection consists of a near-complete run of unbound school newspapers.
-The Green Family Collection (DC072)
The bulk of the Green Family Collection consists of biographical material pertaining to John Cleve Green, Henry Woodhull Green and other members of the Green family. Documents include biographical sketches, family trees, and a small amount of correspondence and business papers as John Cleve Green.
-T. Dean Swift Papers (DC054)
Thomas Dean Swift served as the both registrar of The Lawrenceville School and secretary to headmasters James C. Mackenzie and Simon J. McPherson. He resigned in 1920. After leaving Lawrenceville, he wrote an unpublished biography of Head Master Mackenzie entitled, "An American Schoolmaster: James Cameron Mackenzie and His Life and Work."
-Calliopean Society Records (DC042)
The Calliopean Society Records include meeting minutes, constitutions, bylaws, and other documents created during the the Society's founding and operation. Additional documents include meeting notices, membership rolls, event programs, and student writing. The bulk of the material date from the Society's founding in 1852 through its formal dissolution in 1918.
-Philomathean Society Records (DC043)
The Philomathean Society Records consists of documents created during the course of society business. Included are the constitution and bylaws, financial records, membership rolls, attendance records, meeting minutes, and committee reports. Documents cover the club's founding in 1855 through its disbanding in 1924
-Athletic Department Records (DC007)
The Athletic Department Records include documents related to sports and athletic programs on campus. The bulk of the documents consist of rosters and programs from sporting events.
-Buildings and Grounds Collection (DC021)
The Buildings and Grounds Collection documents the history of the numerous historic buildings on campus. Included are documents pertaining to administrative and classroom buildings, recreational buildings and fields, the campus flora, and the specific houses within The Lawrenceville School house system. Interesting items include documents regarding the numerous renovations to the campus and Frederick Law Olmstead designed Circle. Other items of note include campus maps, blueprints and plans, and deeds and property information from the school's earliest days.
-Middle Tennessee State University: Progressive Era Link Guide
Middle Tennessee State University produced this guide to aid students studying the Progressive Era.
-Carnegie Mellon University: Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries produced this extensive guide to aid students studying the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.
The Library of Congress:
This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920.
-Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Includes American newspapers between 1789 and 1924.
-The Benjamin K. Edwards Baseball Card Collection
The Benjamin K. Edwards Collection includes 2,100 early baseball cards dating from 1887 to 1914.
-The Alexander Graham Bell Family Papers
The online version contains 4,695 items (equaling about 51,500 images), consists of correspondence, scientific notebooks, journals, blueprints, articles, and photographs documenting Bell's invention of the telephone and his involvement in the first telephone company, his family life, his interest in the education of the deaf, and his aeronautical and other scientific research. Dates span from 1862 to 1939, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1865 to 1920.
-America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915 consists of 150 motion pictures, 62 of which also appear in other online collections. The majority of the films are from the Paper Print Collection, while the remainder are from the George Kleine Collection, both residing in the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (M/B/RS) of the Library of Congress.
-American Notes: Travels in America, 1750 to 1920
Comprises 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
-First Person Narratives of the American South
"First-Person Narratives of the American South" is a collection of diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives written by Southerners. The majority of materials in this collection are written by those Southerners whose voices were less prominent in their time, including African Americans, women, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans.
-Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1870 to 1885
Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
-Spalding Base Ball Guides, 1889-1939
Spalding Base Ball Guides, 1889-1939 comprises a historic selection of Spalding’s Official Base Ball Guide and the Official Indoor Base Ball Guide. The collection reproduces 35 of the guides, which were published by the Spalding Athletic Company in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Spalding’s Official Base Ball Guide was perhaps the premier publication of its day for the game of baseball.
-The Detroit Publishing Company
Includes over 25,000 glass negatives and transparencies as well as about 300 color photolithograph prints, mostly of the eastern United States. Subjects strongly represented in the collection include city and town views, including streets and architecture; parks and gardens; recreation; and industrial and work scenes.
-The Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898 to 1906
This collection contains forty-five films of New York dating from 1898 to 1906 from the Paper Print Collection of the Library of Congress. Of these, twenty-five were made by the American Mutoscope and Biograph Company, while the remaining twenty are Edison Company productions.
-The National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. They are a subset of the Library's larger collection donated by Carrie Chapman Catt, longtime president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, in November of 1938. The collection includes works from the libraries of other members and officers of the organization including: Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Alice Stone Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, Elizabeth Smith Miller, Mary A. Livermore.
-Votes for Women: The Struggle for Women’s Suffrage
These images were selected to meet requests regularly received by the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division. They include portraits of women who campaigned for women's rights, particularly voting rights, and suffrage campaign scenes, cartoons, and ephemera. An accompanying women's suffrage timeline features many of the images.
This list includes seventeen collections from the Library of Congress that span the mid-1800s until the close of the century.
-African American Identity in the Gilded Age
The primary sources used are drawn from a time of great change that begins after Reconstruction's brief promise of full citizenship and ends with the First World War's Great Migration, when many African-Americans sought greater freedoms and opportunities by leaving the South for booming industrial cities elsewhere in the nation.
-The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920 documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.
-Inside an American Factory: Films of the Westinghouse Works, 1904
The Westinghouse Works Collection contains 21 actuality films showing various views of Westinghouse companies. Most prominently featured are the Westinghouse Air Brake Company, the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, and the Westinghouse Machine Company. The films were intended to showcase the company's operations.
-Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
Consisting of 104 motion pictures and four sound recordings, the majority of the motion pictures (87) are from the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection in the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (M/B/RS) at the Library of Congress.
-Inventing Entertainment: The Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies
This site features 341 motion pictures, 81 disc sound recordings, and other related materials, such as photographs and original magazine articles. Cylinder sound recordings will be added to this site in the near future. In addition, histories are given of Edison's involvement with motion pictures and sound recordings, as well as a special page focusing on the life of the great inventor.
-Topics in Chronicling America - Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire
Provides access to a sampling of articles from historic newspapers that can be found in the Chronicling America: American Historic Newspapers digital collection (http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/).
The Smithsonian Institution:
-The Smithsonian American Art Museum: The Gilded Age
Contains more than fifty full-color reproductions that convey the richness and variety of the period—rugged landscapes by Winslow Homer, exotic Middle Eastern themes by Louis Comfort Tiffany and Henry Ossawa Tanner, spiritual seascapes by Albert Pinkham Ryder, as well as Renaissance-inspired paintings of Abbott Handerson Thayer.
The National Archives and Records Administration:
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Those interested in the Gilded Age should focus on “The Development of the Industrial United States (1870-1900).”
This site provides access points for researchers to search through the National Archives’ vast holdings of immigrant records.
The Digital Public Library (DPLA): Primary Source Sets:
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.
-Patronage and Populism: The Politics of the Gilded Age
-Environmental Preservation in the Progressive Era
-Settlement Houses in the Progressive Era
-Immigration and Americanization, 1880-1930
Other Resources:
The 56 years of Harper’s Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912.
-The University of Maryland: The Samuel Gompers Papers
The Samuel Gompers Papers collects, annotates, and makes available, primary sources of American labor history. Founded by Stuart Kaufman in 1974, the project has published two microfilm series of union records and eleven volumes of Gompers' papers.
-The Illinois Digital Library: World's Colombian Exposition of 1893 from the Field Museum
The Illinois Digital Archives offers a number of photographic materials relating to the World's Colombian Exposition of 1893.
-Harvard University: Women Working, 1800-1930
Women Working is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.
-Brown University: Alcohol, Temperance & Prohibition
The digitized items in the Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection are from the Alcoholism and Addiction Studies Collection, as well as from various collections in the Brown University Library — broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets and government publications.
-University of Michigan: Influenza Encyclopedia
These pages contain the stories of the places, the people, and the organizations that battled the American influenza epidemic of 1918-1919.
-Cornell University: Remembering the 1911 Triangle Factory Fire
This site provides valuable primary source materials relating to the 1911 Triangle Factory Fire.
-The University of Michigan: Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
-Cornell University: Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
This web site was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and is supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston. The Gilded Age & The Progressive Era.
*Rutherford B. Hayes, 1877-1881
-Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museums
The Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library & Museums exists to enrich lives through the historical preservation of Spiegel Grove and to provide a greater understanding of President Hayes and his contributions to the State of Ohio, the country, and his fellow Americans.
-Rutherford B. Hayes: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Rutherford B. Hayes. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Hayes.
-The American Presidency Project: Papers of Rutherford Hayes
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
*James A. Garfield, 1881
-The American Presidency Project: Papers of James Garfield
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
-James A. Garfield Papers, 1775-1789
The finding for the James A. Garfield Papers, held by the Library of Congress
-James A. Garfield: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with James Garfield. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Garfield.
*Chester A. Arthur, 1881-1885
-Chester Arthur: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Chester Arthur. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Arthur.
-Chester Alan Arthur Papers, 1843-1960
The finding aid for the Chester Alan Arthur Papers, held by the Library of Congress.
-The American Presidency Project: Papers of Chester Arthur
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
*Grover Cleveland, 1885-1889 & 1893-1897
-Grover Cleveland Papers, 1743-1945
The finding aid for the Grover Cleveland Papers, held by the Library of Congress.
-Grover Cleveland: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Grover Cleveland. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Cleveland.
-The American Presidency Project: The Papers of Grover Cleveland
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
*Benjamin Harrison, 1889-1893
-Benjamin Harrison: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Benjamin Harrison. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Harrison.
-Benjamin Harrison Papers, 1780-1948
The finding aid for the Benjamin Harrison Papers, held by the Library of Congress.
-The American Presidency Project: The Papers of Benjamin Harrison
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
*William McKinley, 1887-1901
-William McKinley: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with William McKinley. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to McKinley.
-William McKinley Papers, circa 1847-1935
The finding aid for the William McKinley papers, held by the Library of Congress.
-The American Presidency Project: The Papers of William McKinley
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
*Theodore Roosevelt, 1901-1909
-The Theodore Roosevelt Collection
The collection includes correspondence of Roosevelt and his family, original manuscripts that include many of Roosevelt’s diaries, speeches, articles, and books, the archives of the Progressive Party and of many of Roosevelt’s biographers, along with a vast collection of books and articles, photographs, political cartoons, and ephemera relating to both Roosevelt’s personal and professional life.
-Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
Consisting of 104 motion pictures and four sound recordings, the majority of the motion pictures (87) are from the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection in the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (M/B/RS) at the Library of Congress.
-Theodore Roosevelt: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Theodore Roosevelt. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Roosevelt.
-The Theodore Roosevelt Center
The Theodore Roosevelt Center is located at Dickinson State University and concentrates on centralizing materials related to Theodore Roosevelt.
-The American Presidency Project: Papers of Theodore Roosevelt
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
*Woodrow Wilson, 1913-1921
-The Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Museum
Researchers can search the site’s Digital Library to find primary sources related to Woodrow Wilson.
-The American Presidency Project: Papers of Woodrow Wilson
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. APP is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
-Woodrow Wilson: A Resource Guide
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Woodrow Wilson. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Wilson.
-Woodrow Wilson Papers, 1786-1957
The finding aid for the Woodrow Wilson Papers, held by the Library of Congress.