Produced by Encyclopedia Britannica, Annals includes over 2000 primary source documents, as well as images and media clips. The database may be browsed by historical period, author, or through a topical list. The database may also be searched by keyword or phrase.
The Artstor Digital Library contains over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, the humanities and science from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, and photo archives.
-Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America became available April 18, 2013. This search engine provides access to millions of texts, images, audio files, video files, and other resources digitized by libraries, archives, museums, and other organizations in the United States. The DPLA is an incredible resource of historical primary source material.
-Gale US History in Context (formerly History Resource Center US)
Covers both U.S. history, with full-text articles and primary sources, as well as access to the abstracts and citations in the premier U.S. historical bibliography, America History & Life.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its mission is to provide “permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.” Students interested in the Age of Reform should search the archive with key words, such as "Transcendentalism (New England)," "Temperance," "Abolition," etc.
The Library of Congress is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world, with millions of items including books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
Literature Online provides access to over a third of a million works of poetry, prose, and drama, and over 120 specialist full-text journals and is updated monthly. Complementing a range of searchable, digitized primary texts, Literature Online incorporates an extensive collection of criticism and reference works. Also included isThe Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, Webster's Third New International Dictionary, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary, as well as a compilation of relevant and useful online resources from websites that have been carefully selected. Literature Online also includes a multimedia collection, Poets on Screen, which contains filmed readings by contemporary poets, and provides a unique opportunity to hear major authors interpreting their own works as well as those of their contemporaries and predecessors.
Comprised mainly of books and primary sources this collection contains international coverage of social, economic, history, law and women's studies from the late half of the nineteenth century.
-The National Archives and Records Administration Catalog
The National Archives Catalog is the main portal to search NARA’s collections. The catalog currently contains archival descriptions for 85% of the holdings of the National Archives, authority files, and over 2 million digitized records.
-New York Public Library: Digital Collections
The site offers users access to over 600,000 items digitized from the New York Public Library’s collections. The database features prints, photographs, manuscripts, maps, and video that can be accessed through keyword search or browsing.
-Smithsonian Institution Archives
The Smithsonian Institution Archives “captures, preserves, and makes available to the public the history of this extraordinary Institution.”
-Brown University: Alcohol, Temperance & Prohibition
The digitized items in the Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection are from the Alcoholism and Addiction Studies Collection, as well as from various collections in the Brown University Library — broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets and government publications.
This site provides some resources related to Eastern State Penitentiary and incarceration in the nineteenth century.
-The Fordham Internet History Sourcebook: Liberalism
This resource explores important themes such as utilitarianism, feminism, and prohibition.
-The Library of Congress: Abolition and Suffrage
To improve access the Library of Congress has concentrated a number of documents relating to abolition and women's sufferage.
-The Library of Congress: Seneca Falls Convention
This exhibit offers sources related to the 1848 Seneca Fall convention.
-The Library of Congress: Votes for Women
This site offers access to a portion of the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921.
-The Lost Museum: The Temperance Exhibit
This exhibit explores the temperance movement in the nineteenth century.
-National Archives and Records Administration: Expansion and Reform (1801- 1861)
This resource provides documents related to the expansion and reform in the United States from 1801-1861.
-The National Park Service: Women's Rights
This site reviews the history of the First Women's Rights Convention in July of 1848. The NPS' website offers select resources in connection to the Convention.
-The Online Books Page: The Dial
The Dial was an American magazine of literature, philosophy, and politics, published established in 1840 as a Transcendentalist magazine, edited by Margaret Fuller and Ralph Waldo Emerson.
"The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers." This archive holds a number of resources related to reform in America during the eighteenth century.