-Aldo Leopold Foundation: The Leopold Archives
Aldo Leopold was a conservationist, forester, philosopher, educator, writer, and outdoor enthusiast. The Aldo Leopold Foundation and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Archives have partnered to make the Aldo Leopold Papers available online for the broader public. Lawrentians may find Leopold to be of particular interest because he graduated from the Lawrenceville School in 1908. The Lawrenceville School's Stephan Archives holds a small collection relating to Aldo Leopold (available here).
-Boston Public library: The Nineteenth-Century American Trade Card
Images of 1000 trade cards, representing the full range of products and businesses advertised through this medium from the 1870s through the 1890s.
-The Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online
"This website contains over 212,000 pages of searchable text and 220,000 electronic images, at least one exemplar of all known Darwin publications, reproduced to the highest scholarly standards, both as searchable text and electronic images of the originals. The majority of these have been edited and annotated here for the first time with more than 4,900 original editorial notes.
This website also provides the largest collection of Darwin's private papers and manuscripts ever published: c. 20,000 items across c. 100,000 images, thanks primarily to the kind permission of Cambridge University Library."
-Dr. Seuss Advertising Artwork
Advertising artwork created by Theodor Seuss Geisel in the 1920s-1950s.
Contains "7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
Provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
-Hagley Museum and Library: Digital Archives
The Hagley Museum and Library collects materials related to business and technology in America. Its Digital Archives provides online access to selected items from the Hagley Museum and Library's collection. The digitized collection includes images, documents, and publications related to the history of business, technology, and society.
-The Library of Congress: Sigmund Freud Papers
"The papers of psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud (1856-1939) span the years from about the 6th century B.C.E. (a small Greek statue) to 1998, with the bulk of material dating from 1871 to 1939. The digitized collection documents Freud's founding of psychoanalysis, the maturation of psychoanalytic theory, the refinement of its clinical technique, and the proliferation of its adherents and critics." The collection material is mostly in German.
The Medical Heritage Library is a digital collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. The collection consists of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films that spanning the past six hundred years.
-National Aeronautic and Space Administration (NASA)
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) website showcases a number of multimedia including images and videos.
-National Science Foundation (NSF)
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" The NSF’s website offers access to publications and statistics relating to the fields of science and engineering, minus the medical sciences.
-National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. The NTIS’ mission is to “promote the Commerce Department's and Federal data priorities, including open access and open data, by providing information and data services to the public, industry, and other federal agencies in ways that enable U.S. innovation and economic growth.” The NTIS’ website offers access to publications and statistics
-Patent Medicine Trade Cards Collection
"A collection of small, colorfully illustrated advertising cards touting a particular medicine and its many cures. The illustrations often have little to do with any of the ailments purported to be cured. They were pure advertising and very collectible."
-University of Michigan: Influenza Encyclopedia
These pages contain the stories of the places, the people, and the organizations that battled the American influenza epidemic of 1918-1919.
A major resources for the study of medical history, particularly in the United Kingdom. The library includes maps, timelines, personal accounts, and more.